What is the difference between a comet and an asteroid?

My friend Lilly asked me to write about what makes a comet different from an asteroid.  Well, Lilly, I found that an asteroid is made of  rocky metal material.   A comet is made of ice, dust and rocky material.  They were both formed early in the beginning years of our solar system.  Asteroids were made closer to the sun, so the ice melted.  Comets formed farther away from the sun so the ices did not melt.   When comets get close to the sun the ice begins to melt and leaves material behind creating a tail.  🙂

Here is an awesome pictures of a comet.  I like how the tail is purple and blue.

Here is an interesting picture of 4 cool asteroids.  They look like rocks.

~ by Hannah on January 7, 2010.

7 Responses to “What is the difference between a comet and an asteroid?”

  1. Hannah thank you for putting me in your amzing space facts. You are really nice. The astroid picture is awesome and I also love the comet. You are amazing. This is a good project for you. I wounder what you are doing tommorw? If I get to look at this before bed I will look to see if you wrote back. You don’t have to tell me what you are doing but you can if you want. Or maybe you don’t know quite yet. If you get a chance can you please type back? I will see you tommorw at school. I will look to see what you did tommorw. I will look at your blog tommorow.

    • Hi Lilly.
      You’re welcome and thanks for the idea. I had fun looking up the facts and finding pictures. I haven’t decided what I will do for tomorrow. Have a good night and see you tomorrow. 🙂

  2. first of all tommorow we dont have school and second of all on the comet thing you put here is a awesome pictureS of a comet:)

  3. I think the pic of the comet is really pretty. Good idea

  4. Hannah, this is my favorite amazing fact so far! You really explained it very simply and put wonderful pictures in to back up your explanation.

Leave a comment